I’ve seen several friends post the new variant of the notice saying that in order to have privacy, you have to post the note that does not give Facebook permission to use your photos or status updates.
Here is the thing. Taking away that permission makes Facebook unusable as no one can see them even people you want to see them. If Facebook cannot use them, then it cannot show them to others on your behalf.
I think Facebook should start:
- Programmatically look to see if these statuses are posted by a user.
- Disable access to photos and status updates for any user who has posted it and not allow them to make new ones.
- Let them see the posts of others who have not posted it.
- Highlight to the user that no one can see their stuff due to having that post. Give them the option of deleting the post to restore access.
My guess is if Facebook did this, then these posts would disappear from Facebook pretty quickly.